New Board Members Announced

Boosting representation from across BC and the Yukon, five new Directors have joined Easter Seals BC/Yukon and the British Columbia Society for Children with Disabilities (Society) effective December 2018.

Joining 11 existing Directors, Dana Siddle from Vancouver and Marie Burgoyne from Victoria are two new Community Directors. Sharon Hansen from North Vancouver, Wanda Carissee from Kamloops, and Todd Medd from Pemberton, are three Directors from their local Lions Clubs.

“The Board is delighted to welcome five new members who represent different regions and communities across British Columbia and Yukon,” says Board Chair and community member Tracy Lakeman. “The experience and skills of our new members complement the strengths of our current Board, and will assist us, as we move forward in building a better future for persons with diverse abilities and a more financially secure future for the Society. The Board is excited about the implementation of our vision and 10 year plan, as we look to mark a new beginning where children with diverse abilities will be supported throughout their lifetime.”

Adds Lakeman, “All members of the Board bring diverse perspectives, experience and expertise to the Society, and are passionate about giving back to their communities and helping families and children in need. The Board is comprised of volunteers from communities across regions in BC and Yukon and includes eight leaders from the community and eight members from Lions Clubs.”

In addition to the five new Directors, the Society’s existing directors consist of community members Tracy Lakeman (Chair) from Richmond, John Mould (Secretary) from Maple Ridge, Aaron Stewardson (Treasurer) from Vancouver, Randy Nobbs from North Vancouver, John Davies from Sooke, and Deborah Ryan from Whitehorse. Lions Clubs members include Kirk Duff (Vice Chair) from Castlegar, Bob Ayotee from Kelowna, John Moralek from Langley, Rob Dalton from Port Alberni and Rod Giles from Creston.

Photo: From L to R – Back row: Kirk Duff (Vice Chair), Rod Giles, Randy Nobbs, Tony Medd, Robert Dalton. 2nd row: Dana Siddle, Sharon Hansen, John Davies, Aaron Stewardson (Treasurer), Tracy Lakeman (Chair), John Mould (Secretary). Front row: Marie Burgoyne, Robert Ayotte.  Absent from photo: Wanda Carisse, John Moralek  and Deborah Ryan.